Showing posts with label Jodie Comer. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Jodie Comer. Show all posts

Thursday, July 11, 2024

Gender Fuck Thursday: Comer Over

Would you like to see Jodie Comer in a variety of suits? Stupid question. Anyway, you’re welcome. Sometimes, it’s as easy as that. Also, I wish she’d land a movie I actually want to see. “The Last Duel,” “Free Guy,” “The Bikeriders.” Please, someone cast her as something other than the token female in your film full of dudes. I beg you, please.

Wednesday, April 13, 2022

This Is The End

Honestly, I’m still heated about that finale. They came so, so, sososo close to becoming legends. They came so, so, sososo close to giving queer women an iconic, groundbreaking, satisfying show to love for, well, ever. But then, in that final 2 minutes and 30 seconds, they fucked it all up. Period.

This isn’t to say they needed to give us a happy ending. Honestly, I was braced for both of them to die. But to reduce Villanelle to a plot device for Eve’s growth/”rebirth” to a normal life? I mean, how insulting. Talk about your complete misreads of a character and indeed the whole show.

When you create a series with queer women at its center, especially queer women like Eve who are finding themselves, its important to understand the community you are representing. And it’s important to understand the history of our representation. It’s been 20 years since “Your shirt.” Yet somehow writers keep giving queer people — especially queer women — fleeting moments of happiness before devastating us with its immediate complete destruction. At least Sandra and Jodie in no way played the scenes in question the way the writers supposedly wrote them, bless their endlessly talented hearts.

So forget that ending. It doesn’t exist. We make our own happy endings. We choose our own destinies. Luckily, there’s the internet to help. From the simple way they could have ended it all (seriously, just hit stop after, “Yeah, but mostly me” and then The Chuckle) to a plethora of other options that wouldn’t have betrayed its queer characters and its queer fans.

Tuesday, April 12, 2022

You're Killing Us

Well, shit. I knew, KNEW, it wasn’t going to end well. But there’s ending badly, and then there’s series finale of “Killing Eve” ending badly. Honestly, it wasn’t that bad except then in the last 2 minutes and 30 seconds they went and shat on everything this show had built for four seasons. SPOILERS ahead, obviously. Also a lot of cursing. You’ve been warned.

So, that happened. They fucking shot Villanelle in front of Eve after they had finally consummated their relationship and were seemingly truly happy together. Even as much as we all knew this wasn’t likely to be a riding off into the homicidal sunset together scenario, the betrayal of such a smart show with such a lazy, trope-filled ending is still astounding to behold. Yes, the show went full Bury Your Gays and Dead Lesbian Syndrome. A delightful twofer of uninspired narratives that feels about as fresh as those Crocs Villanelle had to put on to escape while recouping from her first murder attempt way back in Season 2.

The parallels between Eve and Villanelle’s ending and Willow and Tara’s ending are unmistakable. Almost exactly 20 years (May 7, 2002, the Kitten Board remembers) after “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” helped launch our modern discussion of the Bury Your Gays trope, we see the same storyline emerge and get presented as an edgy or profound. Look at the queer people suffering. Isn’t that deep? I would call this whole sorted affair the “Your Shirt”-ification of “Killing Eve.” Are we really still setting up narratives that could somehow be interpreted as “punishment” for queer characters after they finally achieve momentary happiness?

What is this, a cheesy 80s slasher flick where the teens have sex and then get axe murdered 3 seconds later because family values? Is this really great company to keep, show?

The ending to “Killing Eve” took a show with a refreshingly untethered moral compass and turned it into a strict morality play in its last two minutes. The awkward moralizing was compounded by Season 4 showrunner Laura Neal who kept referencing in post-show interviews to the final scene as Eve’s “rebirth.” Her coming out of the water with that primal scream wasn’t about sorrow, it was rejuvenation. Ah yes, I thought she sounded refreshed and reinvigorated as she was garbling in horror. That wasn’t a response to the tragedy of losing the singular focus of her existence for the past four years, it was about washing away the last four years. Duh! You can tell a storyline is really working when you have to keep going, “No, see, what we were saying was…” Anyway, I guess this explains all the Jesus stuff from the start of the season.

Also Carolyn is the one who gets to go off triumphantly (and with a possible spin-off) into the good night? I’m going to have to hard pass on that “And who has a better story than Bran?”-nonsense. I mean, I guess we should all be thankful that if this was going to be the sorry end all along, at least they had the courtesy not to drag it out for eight seasons like “Game of Thrones.”

But here’s the rub. The books the series the show is based on don’t end with Villanelle’s death. No, Eve and Villanelle live, with the latter training to be a linguist. I mean, come on, that’s pretty perfect. Talk about your killer language skills. So this was a deliberate choice to kill Villanelle for the purpose of — what? — saving Eve?

Alas, too many showrunners mistake simply killing off queer characters with emotional depth. One does not automatically translate to the other, and in the cases of underrepresented communities storytellers should take special care when considering our stories. You aren’t just killing a character. You are killing the connection and importance an entire community has placed on a character, particularly when they are the still all-too-rare lead characters. For LGBTQ+ communities, who have found ourselves right back in middle of an ugly politicized fight for our existence, representation always matters.

It should also not go without noting that Villanelle is by far not the first queer character this show has killed off unceremoniously. Starting with Bill, whose murder was the emotional needle drop of the entire first season, and going on to include Carolyn’s closeted father and the ruthless assasin wrangle Helene. And some others whose names I cannot remember becase, granted, there was a lot of death overall on “Killing Eve.” Clearly it’s baked right into the title. But, yeah, that’s still a lot of queer character death for one show. A lot.

The things is, we might be having an entirely different conversation if the show had actually let Eve and Villanelle be together for more than 5 minutes. But to build through four seasons to this moment, and then tease us with these fleeting glimpses of their unconventional yet joyous domesticity only to rip them away is not the grand pathos they think it is. It’s just cruel.

It also shows what feels like a deliberate tone deafness to our community’s history and struggle with representation over the years. The Bury Your Gays and Dead Lesbian Syndrome are truly nothing new. Heck, there should could a whole subgenre on just queer women shot in the back and it’d be longer than the list of sitting female U.S. Supreme Court justices. You can draw a straight line from Tara to Clexa to Villanelle and back again — making it an unbroken circle of Dead Queer Women as convenient plot devices.

This is not to say showrunners can’t tell the stories they want to tell. Artistic vision is not beholden to fandom. But you do owe us a good story. And this simply wasn’t that. Indeed, it feels like a misread of the entire show — like all four fucking seasons.

This was never a show about Eve destroying herself. This was always a show about Eve destroying the trappings of what she thought she wanted to tap into the raw pulsing nerve of her most urgent desires. Indeed, there is rebirth through destruction. But not the destruction of any one person or people (though, gosh, Villanelle sure seemed to have fun in her “Kill Bill”-esque rampage through The Twelve). Losing Villanelle, the thing she’s wanted the most all this time, would not be the “reset button” the showrunner envisions for Eve. And it definitely isn’t a reset for us, its viewers. It’s a let down.

Perhaps there are legions of middle-aged married women who are bored with their desk jobs and their perfectly nice mustachioed husbands for whom the ending of “Killing Eve” might be a revelation. But, honestly, I’m sure they were out there rooting for Eve and Villanelle to make it in the end, too. Like, if this show doesn’t realize that everyone, EVERYONE, who watches would swipe right on Villanelle even if her profile literally only said, “Homicidal psychopath assassin with great fashion sense who will definitely kill you” then this show doesn’t understand itself at all.

What made “Killing Eve” so great and so fun for 99.9% of its run was its unpredictability. But I honestly couldn’t even enjoy the happy moments (or even the at-long-last kiss) because the inevitability of their total destruction was all but assured - the only question was how. Before the finale, you never really knew where things were going, and the thrill of that served to us in such unmistakably stylish and seductive packaging made us all feel like Eve’s Season 1 finale monologue. Indeed, I think about this show all the time. Well, I thought about this show all the time. Now, I mostly think about how I can erase the last 2 minutes and 30 seconds from my memory forever. Sorry, baby. That ending wasn’t it.

Luckily, us queers have become adept at creating our own happy endings. We’re already a community that creates its own chosen families. So, don’t worry, we’ve already created our own better ending for Eve and Villanelle.

Friday, April 08, 2022

My Weekend (Killer) Crush

Gosh, just one more episode. I’ll have a lot more to say once this whole wild ride is over. But what I know for certain is I will miss these two women’s faces together on my screen. I will miss it very, very, very much.

P.s. Yeah, unfortunately, I think Eve removing Villainelle’s arrow is about as much as much romance as we’ll end up getting between our resident cat and resident mouse (whichever is which these days). But, honestly I won’t be terribly mad if Eve winds up with the hot, masc wilderness woman assassin. Yes, obviously, I want the show’s central homicidal psychopath to have a happy ending — whichever one (or both) fall under that category these days. Gosh, just one more episode.

Friday, March 04, 2022

My Weekend Crush (Ultimatum)

Well, I did not have Eve turning to Jesus on my bingo card, but here we are. I don’t know if I’d call that start to the final season of “Killing Eve” auspicious. Instead the show has pulled off quite the switcheroo. When we started, Eve was our flailing obsessive, chasing after a dangerous and elusive target. And now Villanelle is flailing, chasing after a dangerous and elusive target.

While Villanelle is starting, even if for not entirely holy reasons, to go toward the light, Eve is racing headlong into the darkness. The cat is now the mouse, the mouse is now the cat. You know, the whole feline analogy thing.

I can’t say where this will all end. It’s called “Killing Eve” after all so I’m not sure anyone is going to ride off into a perpetual sunrise together or anything. But I can say for certainty that if their romance or lust of just unhealthy obsessive interest in each other isn’t satisfied in this its final season, I won’t feel satisfied either. In short, these two gotta shag. They really do.

You can’t bait us for four seasons — with awkward shepherd's pie dinners and knives-to-throat flirting and cheek-to-cheek actual dancing and THE BUS KISS — without following through. You simply cannot. That’s unfair to loyal fans who have watched all this time as the slow simmer of attraction became an uncontrollable boiling of whatever the hell these two are for each other now.

Don’t get me wrong. I am intrigued to see if Eve Villanelle’s relationship with the pastor’s daughter is going to go anywhere. I mean, what’s a little near fatal drowning between friends and lovers? Poor thing, she’s got it bad. I mean not Eve Season 1 levels bad, but pretty bad.

I hope this show, that’s been this smart and this stylish and this sexy all these years, can find a way to stick the landing. They owe it to their fans, but more so they owe it to Sandra and Jodie who have bristled and burned with chemistry. Make it right, “Killing Eve.” Don’t make me feel sorry, baby. Happy weekend, all.

Wednesday, February 02, 2022

Eve of Everything

So. You thought it might be happening too, right? Like 45-seconds into this thing and all of a sudden Villanelle faces Eve and then…GETS DOWN ON HER KNEES?!?

Right, so I’m not exactly sure what she had planned there to “show” Eve how much she’s changed. But if these two don’t at least smooch – and consensually not a quickie on the bus – in this the fourth and final season I swear. Like, they’re playing “Oh My Love” in the trailer. We all know they’re in some kind of love with each other. So, you know, let it happen.

Or, even better, have Eve hook up with some random new dude they’re introducing at the last minute. That doesn’t make me want to poke someone’s eye out with a hairpin or anything… Kidding! Violence is not the answer, usually.

So, thoughts, feelings, expectations for the final Eve & Villanelle show?

Tuesday, January 04, 2022

The End of Eve

So, are they gonna do it this final season or what? “Killing Eve” remains one of my favorite shows, in so small part because of the magnificent chemistry between Sandra Oh and Jodie Comer. Add in globe-trotting, espionage, intrigue, accents, fashion and an all-female parade of showrunners (started off by the inimitable Phoebe Waller-Bridge) and honestly what’s not to like? So I am looking very much forward to this its final season. I hope they do Eve and Villanelle proud this final season. What started as a cat-and-house game has turned into an unstoppable love story of sorts. I am not holding out hope for a happy ending. It’s called “Killing Eve,” after all. But I sure hope it’s a wild ride to the finish – and gay, make it gay.

Thursday, June 17, 2021

Gender Fuck Thursday: Villanelle's Accents

Some Thursdays you just need to watch Villanelle/Jodie Comer strut around in a beautiful pin-stripe suit while impeccable running through four accents in under a minute just to impress Eve/Sandra Oh. And that Thursday is today.

Thursday, August 27, 2020

Gender Fuck Thursday: Jodie Comer Redux


Some days you just need to sit down and take a long, hard look at Jodie Comer wearing a suit because you still deserve nice things. That’s it. That’s the whole post. 



p.s. I also highly recommend you listen to Jodie read the love letters of Vita Sackville-West. But, again, only because you still deserve nice things.

Friday, July 31, 2020

My Weekend Crush

I think we all deserve to watch “Killing Eve” star Jodie Comer and “Derry Girls” star Nicola Coughlan read each other love letters as Vita Sackville-West and Virginia Woolf. This year has been a lot for everyone, and we still have almost half of it left. But romance, romance has no timeframe. It has no time period. It has no time limit. The project was for Amnesty UK as a celebration of Pride month. But it can be enjoyed at any time. In fact, I think I will again and highly recommend you do as well. I mean, two actresses who play queer female characters reading the real letter of two actual queer literary giants to each other? Yeah, we deserve this.

So here is Jodie as Vita reading a love letter to Virginia.

And here is Nicola reading Virginia's love letter response to Vita.

Swoon away, ladies. You’ve earned this. Happy safe, healthy and righteous weekend, all.

Thursday, June 04, 2020

Becoming Eve

See, I told you it was bananas. Spoilers ahead, obviously. What an interesting, unpredictable, at times wildly uneven, at times wildly ambitious and always wildly interesting ride we had with this season of “Killing Eve.” I also think it’s safe to say the subtext of Eve and Villanelle’s attraction and dare-I-say love for one another has become firmly maintext. There’s no question, these two are in a relationship that neither knows how to fully process or how to fully quit. Call it love, call it obsession, call it mutual understanding. But Eve and Villanelle are intertwined in ways neither are willing to walk away from despite everything that has happened.

What I found most riveting about Season 3 was the yin-yanging Eve & Villanelle's humanity. As Villanelle grows more empathetic (for a psychopath), Eve becomes more psychotic (the look in her eyes as she crushed Dasha). Villanelle realizes she doesn’t want to kill people anymore and Eve realizes she can kill people. Like it was a JOURNEY this season. And it ends like one of the great romances, our heroines standing apart yet still together on a bridge.

As queer watchers of this show, seeing the subtext become canon in ways beyond just sex was satisfying. (I mean, don’t get me wrong - I’d like to see some sex too.) I realize it could have left some straight viewers confused, but to us gay gals we’ve read all the signs. So then to see Eve and Villanelle slow dance in that retro music hall was something out of a classic movie. Well, until Eve had to go kill that other assassin who insisted on wearing sensible clothes with good range of motion.

When they spot that elderly couple serenely dancing beside them and Eve asks, “Do you want to be like that?” and Eve replies, “Not anymore.… We’d never make it that long. We’d consume each other before we got old.” HELLO. Way to U-Haul each other’s entire relationship before it’s even started, Eve. And “consume?” So gay. So, so gay.



Yet you can see the growth, like when Eve tells Villanelle, “When I try to think of my future, I just see your face over and over again.” Because instead of consuming her, Villanelle releases her. She gives her the option to leave her and never turn around. Yet neither can truly take it.

The scene brings to mind the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice, also used brilliantly in “Portrait of a Lady on Fire.” They’ve each been granted what they thought they wanted, yet they cannot follow their own rules. They must look back. I’ve watched that scene quite a few times (you know, along with the slow dancing), and each time it’s thrilling to see two actresses of Sandra Oh and Jodie Comer’s quality say so much without saying anything. I mean, damn.

That clever Phoebe Waller-Bridge and her successors gave us another love story when we were expecting an espionage assassin thriller.

I think what I’ve always loved about this show (besides the brilliant acting and gorgeous outfits and stunning European locales) is that I really have no fucking idea where the story is going. I mean, I understand its basic narrative arcs and how Eve and Villanelle can’t quit each other. But what exactly will happen? No clue. I had no idea Caroline would kill Paul (I mean, he was a slimeball who deserved it, but still). I have no idea if Konstantin can be believed (well, actually, no - he can’t). I have no idea what’s next for Eve and Villanelle (a cozy flat in Central London with a great view?)

Granted, the season left many threads both hanging an unpulled. Like poor, poor Gemma Whelan (who you no doubt know and love as Yara of “Game of Thrones” and Marian on “Gentleman Jack”) was given precious little to do but whine and look concerned. But, to be honest, this show has always slacked when it came to secondary characters. In fact it has barely bothered to develop or keep them around between seasons - except for Kenny which, well, you know.

And then there’s the Konstantin question. Did he kill Kenny? (Signs point to yes.) Did he steal that $6 million from the 12? (Signs continue to point to yes.) Did he kill Dasha? (I rewound several times to see how, but it feels implied.) Why would Caroline spare him? (Look, it’s hard to kill an ex, OK.)

In the end, I think “Killing Eve” is about what happens when two people who can see things in each other that no one else can finally find one another. It’s not always healthy, it’s not always pretty, often it’s dangerous. Next season I would like to see the writers fully commit to Eve and Villanelle’s relationship. What started out as cat-and-mouse is now two wolves who have somehow found one another.The show is always most electric when it allows their dynamic to play out. May we watch their dance, slow or fast or awkward or beautiful, continue.

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Gender Fuck Thursday: Villanelle Edition

Look, I told you this season of “Killing Eve” was going to be bananas, and has it not been legit BANANAS? One of the other things that has been fascinating to watch is how gay it has become. And we’re not just talking the subtext, but the full-on maintext. The season started with Villanelle’s wedding to another woman. I mean, sure it all went awry. But, uh, it started with a gay wedding! And then there’s (look away now if you haven’t watched) That Kiss. Sure, some can read all of this same-sex subtext as queer baiting. But I think and hope it is building to something more complex and interesting. Villanelle’s lust for the ladies (to be as cliché as possible about it) has become more than canon. And now the question remains what does Eve want from all of this.

But, while we wait to see if Eve figures out her shit, can we talk about Villanelle’s high-fashion butch outfits this season? Like, all the yeses to all of this.

Like her wedding tux.


Like how she’s sitting (plus I see you, wrist cuff).


Like the way she effortlessly tops Eve in this suit.


Like (look away now, you know who you are) That Kiss.


Like I was saying, bananas. And, bananas is good.

Friday, April 10, 2020

My Weekend (Killer) Crush

So, technically this is not a post about cats. But it is a post about one of the most epic and epically unpredictable cat-and-mouse psychological dramas ever to grace our teevee screens. With the third season of “Killing Eve” set to premiere on Sunday, it’s nice to know that even in these terrible times we can rely on the important things. Like that watching a psychopathic assassin with impeccable taste in clothing and the object of her mutual obsession and possibly mutual affection chase one another remains wildly entertaining. Having seen the first four episodes of the new season I can definitely confirm the “wild” part. This season is BANANAS, y’all. Like, seriously, bananas.

I hadn’t planned to watch all the screeners - because to be honest I like to be surprised and watch it in real-time with everyone. But we’re in a fucking global pandemic and there’s no time like the present. So, yeah, I watched ‘em all. And can I just say, MORE PLEASE.

So what happens? So much. Where to start? Well, did I mention the season pretty much kicks off with a gay wedding? Oh, yeah, it’s like that.

The show continues to push and tease (and some might say bait) its queer sensibilities, in perhaps some of its most overt way yet. But, let me be frank, it is also pretty brutal. This season is lethal, and you should prepare yourself for that.

Everyone’s life is kind of unhinged. And in a way that feels right given our current worldwide shitshow. And, just like with “Tiger King,” any kind of entertaining moving disaster that has nothing to do with viruses killing scores of people needlessly and governmental incompetence is a welcome respite these days.

So buckle in, kittens. It’s going to be a BANANAS ride. Happy safe and healthy weekend, all.

Monday, March 30, 2020

Killing Time

In these terrible and trying times, I think it’s best to start each week out with something positive. If you can even remember what day of the week it is anymore. Monday, right? And what is more positive than the quasi-love story between a homicidal psychopath with impeccable taste in clothes and the object of her affection and mutual obsession who keeps making inappropriate life and work choices while veering dangerously toward a nervous breakdown? And now with clowns? Yes, “Killing Eve” is coming back for its third season – and early at that. The show’s premiere was moved up two weeks because what the world needs now is Sandra Oh and Jodie Comer, obviously. What’s gonna happen? I have no idea! And that’s the elegantly deranged beauty of this show – I have absolutely no idea what is gonna happen next and I love it. Have a healthy and safe week, kittens.

Tuesday, December 03, 2019

The Look

With “The L Word” coming back, the unabashed portrayal of female desire – that is women desiring other women – is back on our screens. And while the show definitely starts with a wham, bam, tampon ma’am, the act itself isn’t all there is. Far from it. In fact, one of the sexist parts of sex is the seduction. Especially when you can see the desire in her eyes. And then there’s The Look. Oh, you know The Look. You love The Look. The Look is definitely one of the Top 3 reasons to get out of bed in the morning. Especially if The Look looks you up and down. I just... *bites lip forever* So here, in honor so The Look being back on our screens, please enjoy some classic looks.

Wendy & Kay, Mindhunter


Anne & Ann, Gentleman Jack


Villanelle & Eve, Killing Eve


Ronit & Esti, Disobedience


Fleabag & Belinda, Fleabag


Therese & Carol, Carol

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Gender Fuck Thursday/SGALGG Emmys Edition

You didn’t think the start of Hot Impeachment Fall would make me just breeze past Clea DuVall’s Emmys tux with one line, did you? Please, it’s like you don’t know me at all. So in honor of all the Very Pertinent To Your Lesbian (and Bisexual, and Queer, and Trans) Interests, here is a very special combination Gender Fuck Thursday/SGALGG Emmys Edition post.

Clea DuVall & Her Tuxedo

I just… I can’t… Who gave her the right…. I mean, the hand in her pocket is just… And cheekbones like… All that and the tailoring makes me want to be a better woman.

Clea DuVall & Natasha Lyonne

The only thing that could possibly make me happier than knowing Graham & Megan made it is if they then became couple BFFs with Luce & Rachel.

p.s. I know this is cheating, but at a pre-Emmy party Clea & Natasha radiated the strongest “Longtime Couple on A Date Night That Is Going Extremely Well”-couple vibes I have ever seen.

Natasha Lyonne & Amy Poehler

I know Megan is with Graham (20 years and still going strong!), but when her wife has to work late Megan lets Amy and her Big Top Energy take her out on the town (in a flirty but respectfully platonic, “Let’s Break Everyone’s Heart at This Bar Just For Fun”-kind of way.)

Jodie Comer & Sandra Oh

See, Eve can look genuinely happy for Villanelle when they aren’t stabbing/shooting each other. The only thing you two should be cutting is that sexual tension.

Phoebe Waller-Bridge & Sian Clifford

Look, I know they play sisters, but they’re not sisters. So I will totally allow it.

Joey King & Patricia Arquette

Look, I know they play mother-daughter, but they’re not mother-daughter. So you see where this is going.

Amy Poehler & Catherine O'Hara

Free Idea, Hollywood: Amy and Catherine play a May-December lesbian couple in a rom-com where they move from New York to rural Iowa to start an organic farm and attempt to befriend the locals.

Laverne Cox & Chase Strangio

The two trans rights advocates, and in particular Laverne’s purse, are a reminder that LGBTQ rights are very, very much at risk. Because on Oct. 8 the Supreme Court will decide whether trans (and really all LGBTQ) people can legally be fired for simply for being ourselves.

Gwendoline Christie & Her GoT Ladies

Her Brienne Jesus look obviously brought all the girls to the Tarth. Can Arya and Daenerys be her disciples, because they’re something I can believe in.

Gwen & Emilia Clarke


I mean, imagine how much better the ending would have been if instead of getting stabbed by Know-Nothing Jon Snow, Daenerys was saved from herself and her murderous madness by Brienne of Tarth and they then ruled together as co-queens with compassion while also adopting all the stray cats in Westeros.

Gwen & Lena Headey

Fine, part of me would also be fine if Daenerys let the world burn and Brienne instead saved Cersei and they then found a new life together crafting fine battle swords in a remote beach village across the sea while also adopting all the stray cats in Dorne.

Gwen & Her Pink After-Party Jesus Suit

I am not a religious person, but this is a real come to Brienne Jesus moment for me.

Monday, September 23, 2019

Fleabag Says Thanks

HOLY CRAP, THAT WASN’T HALF BAD. SORRY, AFTER JODIE WON I PROMISED I’D TYPE IN CAPS LOCK FOREVER. RULES ARE RULES. Kidding, SORTA.

But in no way am I kidding when I say the Emmys weren’t half bad. I mean not the show’s production, which was basically a weird, host-less mess. But television’s biggest night mostly eschewed the safe and predictable and instead went for some unexpected but very, very (very, very) deserving winners. Like, I would never have thought the Academy would dare to not give Julia Louis-Dreyfus the trophy for her final year of “Veep.” But instead another three-named comedy goddess took it all in Phoebe Waller-Bridge. I know, Fleabag would be so shocked.

So here are some somewhat random (though thankfully not in all caps) thoughts about last night’s Emmy Awards.

1) JODIE! FUCKING! COMER! (Sorry, I lied about the all caps.)



Like, I know how much we all gush about Sandra Oh. But without Jodie’s gorgeously seductive psychopath, the show would just be about an overqualified lady who gets a little too obsessed with her job. Also, Jodie has a standing invite to come murder me.

2) PHOEBE! FUCKING! WALLER-BRDIGE!



When the announcers called “Fleabag” a show about a female sex addict I basically dashed all hopes of the Academy understanding its brilliant. But hot damn, did they ever. But, then, they were just following my instructions to give Pheobe all the awards always.

3) I commit myself to our Lord and Savior, Brienne of Tarth.



I mean, she’s not wrong. And Gwendoline Christie totally wore it better.

4) ALL MY BUT I’M A CHEERLEADER DREAMS HAVE COME TRUE (sorry, the struggle is real with the caps locks.)



But, seriously, Clea’s tuxedo is making me feel so validated in keeping my 20-year crush on Graham alive.



5) Michelle Williams and the damn good speech.



She eloquently reminded everyone in the room about women and particularly women of color’s worth. Now I feel extra bad about not watching “Fosse/Verdon” yet.

6) Billy Porter the EG_T.



He just needs an Oscar to join the club. But regardless he is the first out gay black man to win best actor in a drama – not to mention the only out gay black man to ever be nominated for the honor.

7) The Totally Exonerated Five.



While it was beyond great to see the Exonerated Five honored in Jharrel Jerome’s win, a quick reminder that our “president” took out a full-page ad back then to demand they be executed immediately. So, there’s that.

8) Cersei deserved better.



It remains outrageous that in eight seasons Lena Headey never won an Emmy for playing Cersei. But, as this dress implies, she’ll always be our favorite florist, regardless.

Friday, July 19, 2019

My Weekend Emmys

Look, I’m not saying the Emmy’s have impeccable taste. But, they basically had my taste in TV this year. Sooooo. I guess what I’m saying is the Emmys had impeccable taste this year – you’re welcome.

Killing Eve” getting nominations for Best Drama, Best Lead Actress in a Drama (for Sandra and Jodie) and Best Supporting Actress in a Drama (for Fiona). “Fleabag” getting eleven, yes ELEVEN, Emmy nominations including Best Comedy and Best Lead Actress in a Comedy for Phoebe and literally every other female actress who appeared in either a supporting or guest role on the show. Seriously, I am not kidding: Olivia, Sian, Kristin and Fiona (yes, again) all got nominations.

And then there was all the love for “Russian Doll,” a head-trip of a show that was way smarter and stranger than I thought the Academy would ever recognize. And “The Good Place” getting rightfully recognized too. And “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” thought admittedly I haven’t had time to start the second season yet. And same goes for “Schitt’s Creek,” but there are only so many hours in a day and sometimes I need to close my eyes.

In short, it was a very good year for smart women who like to watch smart television about other smart (and strange and sometimes murderous) women. Happy weekend, all.

p.s. This is how Phoebe Waller-Bridge acts when she wins a big award. So, just saying, Academy voters – you too can make this happen.



Monday, June 17, 2019

The Most Interesting Psychopath in the World

I sincerely apologize in advance, but I’m about to have one of those, “Oprah, Uma. Uma, Oprah.” moments. So here goes. Jodie Comer, meet Tatiana Maslany. Tatiana Maslany, meet Jodie Comer.

Why, do you ask? Because few other actress working on television today are as thoroughly impressive and undeniably chameleon-like as Tatiana Maslany. But Jodie Comer is one of them. While I loved her in the first season, I was astounded by her in the second season. Her Villanelle is one of the most electrifying anti-heroines on screen right now. She is The Most Interesting Psychopath in the World, and then some.

The way, in particular, Jodie can make her eyes light up with perverse joy during a kill is, like, goddamn. Just as impressive is her ability to switch accents and personas on a dime, which only furthers deepens the Tatiana comparisons. And – as far as I can tell – they haven’t once used her real accent, which as a Liverpudlian is a sweet scouse.

In short, Jodie Comer is very, very, extremely, extremely impressive and is it weird that if I had to be murdered, I would want to be murdered by her?

Thursday, May 02, 2019

Gender Fuck Thursday: Jodie Comer Edition

Goddamn, Jodie Comer. I said, GODDAMN. That is all.

p.s. Are you watching this new season of “Killing Eve” because Jodie is AH-MURDER-ZING. But, seriously, she’s so good. So, so, so good. Like, she should wear more ties good.